top of page

In Loving Memory Of Fried Food Friday

The fragrance of delectable fried fish wafted to my nose, inducing unbelievable satisfaction to my olfactory sensors. I struggled to fight off my desire. They said it would be hard to resist against temptations but it would get better. I would experience withdrawal symptoms but they assured I would gradually feel better, cleaner and healthier.

I heard the crisp clear sound of what I could only imagine was fish batter frying till a golden brown. My brain screamed in agony to have one more taste of the fried food that I would never ever eat again in my lifetime, although I knew it was only a trick of technology. This is a test, I chanted to myself, I will pull through.

“Number 946133, you have passed the first stage.” The warden looked at me, his gaze withering. However, I could see a faint glimpse of pity bubbling beneath the surface of his old eyes. I couldn’t believe it; was he sympathising with me, a fried food addict? Why? Whatever the reason, I had to use his sympathy to escape this hell hole and return to my fried food paradise.

“You’ve eaten fried food before,” I muttered just loud enough for the warden alone to hear. He looked at me long and hard. For a moment, my confidence faltered. Had he seen through my tactic?

“Indeed I have, lad.” The warden mumbled and went back to cuffing my hands behind my back. He continued with fond remembrance, “the government does not know the joys of eating, but boy, I was a real fried foodie.”

“Hmm…” I prodded him to continue. The warden leaned in real close to me, and craned his neck to survey his surroundings before speaking in a hushed tone, “tell me, where did you get your supply from?”

Was the warden trustworthy enough to know about this? It was the only supply of fried food that had managed to avoid the intense scrutiny of the government up till now. It was spread by word of mouth only to trustworthy people who loved fried food. If it was to shut down, where would the fried food lovers go?

“Can I trust you?” I asked with bated breath, hoping that the warden was really telling the truth. The warden thought for a while and said a long string of fried food places that had long been demolished and cordoned off--Mc O Fry, Fry the Fried, Fried till Right, To Fry, Fry My Food, Like It Fried--call it a gut instinct of a fried food addict, he was definitely a fellow fried food lover.

“Freddy’s Veggies,” I mumbled quickly. Sudden fear coursed through my fried food-deprived veins, accompanied by the thunderous sound of my heart beat. Had I divulged this immensely valuable piece of information to the wrong hands? The fear however vanished as quickly as it came as I watched the warden’s eyes glow bright with pure joy. At that instant, the elation in his eyes was like that of excited children about to sate a longstanding hunger for fried goodies.

I dismissed the thought quickly. Nowadays, the children would never get to experience some of life’s most memorable moments-the feeling of biting into the crisp batter of a fried fish or just being able to sink their teeth into a juicy fried chicken.

That was the sad, sad truth.

_________________________________

"Tommy, come on. Let's go shop for more groceries." "Okay!"

"Put these chicken drumsticks into the trolley. I'll fry them for you tonight." "But, mommy, those are unhealthy! Could we go to the vegetable and fruits section? Let's grab some broccoli, I wanna eat them for dinner later!" Okay, enough of that. It's pure balderdash, because let's face it: that's never going to happen. All of us love eating fried food, be it nuggets, fries, wedges, or fried chicken. Just imagine the crisp skin, the tender meat, the mouthwatering taste filling up your senses as you sink your teeth into the golden brown madness we call fried food. Your mind will jump up with excitement, and you will feel this irresistible urge to devour more, just a little more. Okay, maybe that’s exaggerating a bit too much. But you get the point.

Still, I believe all of us love fried food. Well, a small and insignificant soul like me can never assume for the whole world, but I'm sure a majority of us enjoy its taste. However, it is sad to say that we will be saying goodbye to our most precious Fried Food Friday. Indeed, RV has succumbed to the Healthy Eating in Schools Programme (HESP). Here’s some information about the healthy eating programme that you might want to know, especially since we’re talking about your food here.

The Health Promotion Board, in collaboration with the Ministry of Education (MOE), has been actively encouraging healthy eating in schools for several years now. Now, RVHS slips under the Board’s radar no longer. The HESP seeks to improve the availability of healthier food and beverage choices in schools through an integrated programme involving teachers, canteen vendors and students.

One particular guideline that the canteen vendors have to comply with clashes with RVHS Fried Food Friday. From the HPB website, ‘deep-fried food, pre-deep-fried food upon purchase (e.g. pre-deep-fried chicken nuggets and pre-deep-fried French fries) and preserved food (e.g. sausages, ham, luncheon meat, preserved vegetables, preserved eggs) shall not be sold in schools’. Hence, Fried Food Friday will be no longer in existence. Cue the cries of sadness.

The loss of Fried Food Friday is not the only change we will undergo with the implementation of the HESP. Have you noticed that the once white rice used in the 酿豆腐 stall or in the Lo Mai Gai from Sweet Hut is now switched to brown rice? If you haven’t, here’s a little heads up, the effects of this healthy eating programme will very soon be seeping into many of our favourite go-to snacks and food in RVHS when we come back from the holidays! It’s not all bad, however - in place of fried food, canteen vendors will be preparing fruits that will be given to students every meal, with the additional cost of 20 cents.

The announcement of the cancellation of Fried Food Friday has caused quite an uproar among students. Our fellow RV meme pages have also created several memes to fit the occasion. They are included below for your viewing pleasure!

So…what does that mean for RVHS? That would mean a Fry-day without fried food, it would mean the death of Fried Food Fry-day. Yay or nay? You decide.

Some Memories of Fried Food Friday:

“For me, a relatively new student who had been in RV for only a few months, Friday seemed just like any other school day when I first came. However, as I got more familiarized with life in RV, Friday does seem special -- not only because that we can wear TGIF attire, not only because the exciting weekend is coming, but also because it is Fried Food Friday! Every Friday, (the) canteen is filled with students queueing up for the fried food in various stores and lessons before recess just seem to be longer. Even some of my teachers commented on which fried food was their favourite during lessons and everyone was just looking forward to them every Friday.“

Rest in peace, Fried Food Friday.


Follow Us

Check us out on the following social platforms

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Recents

Search by Tags

No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page