top of page

If Only I Were Rich


Dear ___, There is something on my mind, That I really have to say. And I hope you don't feel sad, Because all this is my fault. Your smile has always been the light in my dark, But now it flickers like a flame standing in the wind. Green has never been your favourite colour, But now you wear it so frequently when you're out with your friends. Love was always your best gift to me, But now you send me painful looks of disgust. Things became worse when you gave up your job as a banker, And directed your earnings towards lottery tickets. You stare at the bank books more than ten times a day, Silently muttering words under your breath. You check my wallet every night, Whenever I begin snoring or turn my back from you. You tell me nothing is wrong, But your eyes betray your mouth. You change your bucket list every day, Only to include items launched in the latest spring collections. If only I were rich, Then I could take you out of this misery. We could go on our honeymoon, albeit three years late, Like any other married couple. We could participate in romantic getaways, To recreate the scenes in your favourite dramas. If only I were rich, Then I could despise this job of a postman as much as you do. We could buy that dream house by the beach, And sail the world on a million-dollar yacht. We could live in the limelight, And have a dozen stylists fuss over you. But darling, is our happiness worth putting a price tag on? What does it mean to live without worries? Yet, I can only imagine, If I were rich, what would I do? Love, ___. (Inspiration drawn from: 'Rich' by Epik High ft. Taeyang)


Follow Us

Check us out on the following social platforms

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Recents

Search by Tags

No tags yet.

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page